SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#26719 - 12/23/01 01:57 PM Re: Please help
stillme Offline

Loc: Michigan/US
Hey FAEbGBD,
You seem to know a lot about your keyboard. I'm impressed! I'm still learning...I've had mine since August. Can you tell me anything about the Session, or the Bass & Drums board?

#26720 - 12/24/01 09:40 AM Re: Please help
FAEbGBD Offline

Loc: Nashvville TN
I don't have the session board. I've heard some demos though. It sounded good. some nice grand pianos, electric guitars are good, nylon guitar is good, brass leaves something to be desired, a so-so sax. I don't have it because I had more specific needs rather than just better quality of everything. There was nothing on the board that absolutely floored me from listening to demos.

The bass and drums board I do have. This is a swweeett board! Very nice electric basses, fretless, acoustic basses. You can hear string buzzing and such for added realism. Also several artifacts such as slides, slaps, pops, and harmonics are available and can be useful if done tactfully.
Drums are great as well, but somewhat limited for my taste. Plenty of kicks and snares and toms, but few cymbals; highhats, crashes splashes, rides, etc. There is only 1 ride cymbal, with 3 different samples, the bell, and 2 other positions. There is also no brush kits which really disappointed me. The samples available are quite good though; for instance, the toms have a bit of snare resonance in them as they would at an actual kit.
It's almost breakfast time, so I'm signing off. Hope that helped.
I should quickly add there are no electric drum kits to speak of either. No drum machine sounding stuff; pretty much all acoustic drums.

[This message has been edited by FAEbGBD (edited 12-24-2001).]

#26721 - 12/24/01 11:28 AM Re: Please help
stillme Offline

Loc: Michigan/US