SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#44336 - 01/23/02 11:01 AM PunchRecord Double Notes
Sissle Offline

Loc: USA - South Dakota
Hi To All,
This is my first attempt at Real Time Recording and Punch Recording, and I have a question. Let me set up the scenario: I have recorded a track of my song using just piano. On top of that I have added my other tracks with various instruments. However, when I recorded the piano track, my fingers weren't paying attention to the melody of the music and did their own thing --- alright, I admit, there were three places in the music that my fingers didn't mind! I went back and Punch Recorded over all three mistakes. One of the mistakes starts where I have a block chord on beat one in the bass. -- Keep in mind, the error was in the melody. Now when I play my song back, the notes in the melody are corrected, but at the beginning of the measure I hear that block chord played twice. First a quick chord, then the longer duration chord. I know that I can go in and edit it out, but wonder what caused this. Is it common when punch recording? Is it a timing issue where on the initial recording I was ahead of the beat to begin with? Can somebody explain this to me so I don't make the same mistake again?
Carol

[This message has been edited by Sissle (edited 01-23-2002).]

#44337 - 01/23/02 01:28 PM Re: PunchRecord Double Notes
John North Offline

Loc: Alfreton, Derbyshire, England
Hi Carol
It's likely that when you pressed punch in, it was immediately after the chord you wanted to replace. Quite often with realtime recording we discover that we are not metronomes and that those notes we thought were on the first beat of a bar, are actually at the end of the previous bar. It might be worth checking this with step record & edit before deleting the erroneous notes.

#44338 - 01/23/02 03:05 PM Re: PunchRecord Double Notes
technicsplayer Offline