SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#59475 - 11/11/03 09:44 AM NEED PC UPGRADE HELP...
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
... I am about to embark on what I expect might be a long arduous journey into a PC upgrade... I am actually looking to replace my dinosaur with a new model... I would like the capability of backing up my midi files, style registrations, etc. which currently reside on the HD in my kn6000 ... I would also like to record myself (playing and singing) onto a CD which I could then circulate to anyone who might want to give a listen and critique ....
I guess I would also want MP3 capability ( I have NO experience in this area)... and ultimately would like to create my own web page ...
DELL is currently running a sale starting at $500.00 US for what I would guess is a base unit ...
What should I be looking to get for my purpose as outlined above?
thnx in advance ....
t.

#59476 - 11/11/03 01:11 PM Re: NEED PC UPGRADE HELP...
technicsplayer Offline

Practically any latest base unit would be suitable for the tasks you describe with the proviso you don't wish to multitrack more than stereo cd quality at one time, and that you may wish a better quality sound card than supplied since still recording the 6000 through analogue in, but in terms of power would be enough.

If you want the latest graphics capability for photoshop editing from multi megapixel cameras, or my own current interest of video authoring, editing and recording of DV and DVD creation and copying then a more powerful machine is definitely required - also if you want to progress to the real time sample players from hard drive, staying in the music area.

Whatever you buy it's out of date in 6 months

#59477 - 11/12/03 05:02 AM Re: NEED PC UPGRADE HELP...
Ted Rose Offline

Loc: United States
[QUOTE}Whatever you buy it's out of date in 6 months [/B][/QUOTE]

Would you believe six DAYS?!