SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#84872 - 09/23/05 05:35 AM Re: A bit disappointed...
kbrkr Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
I am a web designer and I also do graphic art. I can tell you that it takes months to develop a great multi-function website with photo's, sound, guestbooks, etc.

I wouldn't be too hard on Phil, he is young, inexperienced and is trying really hard to develop his skills. Look at it as an opportunity to help mentor a young person.

However, as a business owner, I feel your pain. Remember you ALWAYS get what you pay for. My web sites START at $500.00 and can go sky high!

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

#84873 - 09/23/05 06:50 AM Re: A bit disappointed...
captain Russ Online   content

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Kbrkr, you're right...you get what you pay for. This was simply a chance for this young
man to learn. I paid him $100.00 more than his asking price. There was no sound...no guestbook. He got a thumbnail of the pages, illustrations on disk and content via email. It was one of the easiest sites to create I have ever organized, due to the intent, which was to create a learnng experience. I was prepared to get a marginal; even unusable product. I'm not at all upset because he couldn't do the work...I'm upset about how he handled things when he learned there was a problem, which was to do nothing.

We hve two web designers on staff, and create interactive sites for clients used to track the process of orders, order entry, shipping dates, sales commissions, etc.If my object was only to get an appropriate website, I would have simply given the job to one of our people and it would have cost me nothing, since they are on salary.

Had I gotten anything like an acceptable product, I would have developed him as a part-timer to maintain static sites, at compensation of $50.00 an hour.

I was simply trying to give someone an opportunity...

Russ

#84874 - 09/29/05 11:37 AM Re: A bit disappointed...