SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#177403 - 06/13/07 06:28 PM Re: How many here are NOT OMB's?
J. Larry Offline

Loc: University, MS 38677 USA
I guess I'm the odd ball among the group. Having owned tons of arranger boards, not one has ever left the house for gigs. Reason: I'm a guitarist, who sings as well. I create my own backing tracks on a Tyros 2 (and sometimes BIAB). I add generous overdubs as needed and vocal harmonies. All this is played from an iPod in "live" settings. This approach works well for me. I average 8 to 10 gigs per month and play everything from the 20's through the 70's. My market doesn't require much from the 80's onward---and that's fine with me. Since I'm not a two-fisted player like many on this forum, my primary interest (in new arrangers) is in the styles and the realism of a band. I appreciate all the reviews, comments, and contributions of you with the real keyboard chops. It's helps those of us who play chords and arrange to make decisions on the latest products to assist in our solo efforts.

#177404 - 06/14/07 06:47 PM Re: How many here are NOT OMB's?
hellboy44 Offline

Loc: Australia
Well I've never done anything BUT Duo work since turning professional.

I started out as a formally trained drummer (!) in various bands (Original material only)

I'm young(ish) so weight is not an issue for me, but 76 keys is! - and sounds.

Styles I need for Songwriting, Demos and some Old Time Dancing gigs (Waltzes, Quick Steps - older "ballroom styles" in other words).

Sampling is also becoming more of a priority for us - at least for Drum Loops and more up to date Dance sounds.

The Website in my sig shows more about us and where we play in Australia if anyone's interested and explains the range we cover.