SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#26417 - 11/18/00 04:58 AM Can Two XPs/XVs or JVs be hooked up to give you twice the polyphony?
epu Offline

Seems like a dumb quesiton, but I remember reading how some synths can set themselves so they only recieve Odd/Even Note Number configurations so when attached, together they give you doublethe polyphony.

So, with that, I'm just curious as to whether a Roland XP60 and JV2080 would give you 64 Note Polyphony. Or if two XV5080s would give you 256MB Sample RAM and 256 Note Polyphony.

I remember reading that the Roland JV2080 has a modular architecture - That you could hook them up in series.

The Infamous EPU.

#26418 - 11/18/00 09:13 AM Re: Can Two XPs/XVs or JVs be hooked up to give you twice the polyphony?
OldSchool Offline

Loc: Lexington, KY USA
EPU:
I should preface my remarks with a disclaimer - I'm fairly new to all this, and have had very limited experience. I have no experience with the units you mention. However, such things never stopped me before!
My understanding is that the number of channels available is limited only by the controller/sequencer's ability to address them separately. I'm using a very crude computer program, so I'm stuck with 16, but others have no such limitations.
I have read that SysEx messages can even be used to divide up channels between different units of the same manufacture, or even same model. I've also been advised (in this forum) that when you intend to patch to different units, it's a good idea to have a MIDI mixer module which can route different channels (or even specific signals in one channel) along one of several MIDI outs. That is how I intend to go, and have the unit on order.