SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#33593 - 05/20/08 09:29 PM KETRON SD Series:
Nedim Offline

Loc: Staten Island, NYC
After few days of working mainly on a KETRON SD5 and also on SX3000 which are the same mashines i learnt, heard and realized
many things that i didnt know or heard before, i never worked with Ketron mashines, i've been programmin for the last 12-15 years
many mashines (mostly Vintage Analog)(i am one of those freaks) but i never really got into Ketron. Touched, heard or saw a few
but i never paid attention to it, i knew they were good and probably the best but it was out of my interest, till recently untill u started
having some issues with new KORG mashines and with KORG itself. I mostly did programmin for them. Last friday when i got the
mashines home i started playing with the SD5 and right away started expliring (wasnt too hard, mainly any mashine is the same)
and in like 10-15 minutes i already had produced a single VARIATION-ARRANGER in an EMPTY STYLE. And of course there was
all kinds of things on the way getting there, good and bad...both. I will try to compare certain functions on the SD5 with other brand
mashines for easier understanding for the people that use other brands and also easier for me to express it since i dont know the
whole terminology in Ketron...at first i was a little confused with the Registation, Program, Pattern things but then all i had to do was
compare it to KORG functions and got my way around it:
1. Registration-SongBool
2. Program-Performance
3. Pattern-UserStyle
3. Voice-Sound...and so on.
But at first glance, only the MISSING things came out...things for which i kept looking for in the synth and it just wasnt there:

1. Not havng a Sequencer it didnt really bother me, 1. It is an arranger not a Workstation and 2. I never use onboard Sequencers.
2. Then i got into the Loveable EVENT EDITOR part...and it just wasnt there and i got sad...to me its unreplaceable, it is missing,