SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#349069 - 08/13/12 06:43 PM For those using iPad for charts...a new app
miden Offline

Loc: The World
I just came across this by accident, because I am about to start converting my entire sheet library into pdf files, and I have been hunting for a good dedicated scanner...

This app is called Turboscan for iOS, costs 2.99 and I attach an example of a scan I did with my iPad 3 camera (apparently the iPad 2 camera doesn't give as good a result) so those with iPad 2 or 1, should probably use the iPhone to take the pic...

Now this is my first attempt so it is a bit dodgy, but with practice it should get better I think, but this may be a really cheap solution.

Took a second to take the pic, another couple to do minor adjustment and then just sent it straight to a pdf file (it also can use other formats I think)..

Anyway, just thought I would share the discovery. For those who already know about it, sorry wink

Dennis

PS: Don't confuse this app with a similar one called Turbo Scanner, which is apparently VERY dodgy..make sure it is TurboScan

Attachments
Doc - 14-08-2012 11-19 AM.jpg

#349071 - 08/13/12 07:53 PM Re: For those using iPad for charts...a new app [Re: miden]
rikkisbears Offline

Loc: NSW,Australia
Thanks Dennis,
I'll definately check that out.

Korg PA5X 88 note
SX900
Band in a Box 2022

#349074 - 08/13/12 08:25 PM Re: For those using iPad for charts...a new app [Re: miden]
miden Offline

No worries Rikki - I have since tried a couple of different settings and on colour (not B+W) like this example, it is a LOT better!!!

But the file size on medium is only about 750k for the colour setting...apparently Adobe Pro can optimise even further so one could them down to about 80k with the same quality...

I was about to drop about $400 on a dedicated flatbed scanner, but this is SO quick and easy to use...Can use it anywhere I can take my iPad (or iPhone)...