SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#355969 - 12/06/12 09:44 AM What am I doing the rest of my life...?
captain Russ Online   content

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
(Great Song...)!

I'm at the age where I am really starting to evaluate where I've been and what I'll do for the rest of my life.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not expecting to expire later this month or anything. I still plan to travel overseas on playing jobs 6-8 time a year, play 300 gigs, do film scores and film production, teach, serve as guardian for two ladies (both widows of long-time friends), be active in charitable organizations, etc.

But the fact is, I AM a 68 year old dude with lots of miles on me.

Thing is, I don't think that it is set in stone that I set my kids up for life. I had it pretty rough (not even enough for lunch money in school), but that taught me to be self-sufficient at a very early age. I started playing for an adult's salary at 11 and was able to help support 4 brothers and help them escape a rough, physically abusing situation. That is one of the reasons playing music is so important to me.

Now, I need to figure out what to do for my kids and what to do with the things I have accumulated.

Here's the plan:

* Finish the music based youth center here in Lexington I'm planning, including fully stocking it with instruments and computers. Design a plan for deserving kids to earn a professional quality instrument if they progress appropriately.

* Make a significant contribution to the New Orleans Habitat project (6 figures, with some input on my part about what is done with my contribution).