SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#26379 - 03/27/01 11:01 PM Roland should..
Zeratul Offline

Loc: Romania
This matter bugs me ever since I got full access to the Internet.Roland(unlike Korg)doesn't seem to care much for the developement of patches and banks for their line of synths,leaving the programming and tweaking to the user.I am not a sound designer,I am a composer.So what am I supposed to do if I need a lot of "etherical" pads and "fantasy" effects for my new age ambiental music?Turn to Korg who excels in this area?I would not as I am a constant Roland user,since the times of my first D20 and going through XP50,XP60 and my current XP30.From all the browsing on the web all I got was 32 patches for XP30,and that was on a scandinavian(as I remember)Roland site.You will say it is not their interest to develop patches since they need to promote the expansion boards.This may be so ,but I think it should be their duty to offer more to the customer who invested in their products and chose Roland over some other brand.And this wouldn't be so hard anyway,putting a few sound designers to a couple of hours of work extra a day.I feel that whith the exceptional sound quality of the samples much more could be done that the presets even on the expansion boards.Shouldn't Roland do this?

------------------
[b]D'auk o-la[b]

#26380 - 03/28/01 03:59 AM Re: Roland should..
Bungle Offline

Loc: Den Haag, The Netherlands
I don't really feel this is Roland's duty. And even now I've got tons of patches I'll probably never use. Only dissappointing thing is that because the international community of xp30 users is too small (and Roland could fill this gap by sound developement) no user patches are created that use expansion waveforms of the session/techno/orchestral boards.

#26381 - 03/28/01 11:45 AM Re: Roland should..
KeyboardFreak Offline